School-e Awards Semi-Finalists Announced


          LAWRENCE, Kan.— Thirty school district Web sites were selected as School-e Awards semi-finalists today, based on the number of nominations they received. The School-e Awards contest, hosted by AllofE Solutions, showcases the best K-12 district Web site design and strategy. 

          “Nominations were gathered to identify districts where district stakeholders care enormously about the district and its Web site,” said AllofE K-12 product manager Stacy Schwind.

          Semi-finalists’ sites are now being evaluated by an industry expert panel comprised of educational technology experts Ken Royal, Shelly Terrell, Tom Whitby and Steven Anderson. The panel will evaluate the sites using a broad set of criteria to identify the top 15 district Web site finalists that follow best practices for web design and content, Schwind said.

          The 15 finalists will move on to the voting phase. This final phase will elicit the feedback of the general web audience. Anyone with a valid e-mail address will be able to vote for a school district site starting April 5 by going to the contest Web site.

          District employees, students, and community members should go to to vote and find out more information about the contest.


The list of semi-finalists is as follows:

1.Beaufort County School District

2.Blue Springs School District

3.Brownsville Independent School District

4.Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School  


5. Center School District

6.Clear Creek Independent School District

7.Easton Area School District

8.Fayetteville-Manlius Schools

9.Fergus Falls Public Schools

10.Frenship Independent School District

11.Friendswood Independent School District

12.Godfrey-Lee Public Schools

13.Hurst-Euless Bedford Independent School   


14.Keller Independent School District

15.Leavenworth Unified School District

16. New Castle County Vocational Technical School


17.New Milford Schools

18.Orange Schools

19.Paris Independent School District

20.Penncrest School District

21.Pine Tree Independent School District

22.Pleasanton Independent School District

23.Polk County School District

24.Southwest Independent School District

25.Spearfish School District

26. University Academy Charter School

27.Van Meter Community Schools

28.Wakulla County School District

29.West Fargo Public Schools

30.Zachary Community School District